News|31/12/20

2021

Home > The news of EUROGIP and occupational risks in Europe > 2021

2021 promises to be a special year. We obviously hope that it will be better than 2020 and lead us towards a return to “normal” life. It also marks the 30th birthday of EUROGIP, created as a public interest grouping at the end of 1991 by the CNAM (National occupational risk insurance) and the INRS. The aim was to better understand and participate in the European process that was taking shape in the field of health and safety at work (OSH).

Indeed, two years earlier, the European framework directive (Directive 89/391/EEC) marked a decisive turning point:

  • It guarantees minimum OSH conditions across Europe while allowing Member States to maintain or introduce more stringent measures;
  • it is the basis for a series of “separate directives” relating to the use or placing on the market of machinery, personal protective equipment, display screens, etc.

At the same time, Europe adopted its “New Approach” (1985) which established a strong complementarity between European directives and standards. The former set essential OSH requirements for placing on the market and using products. The latter propose means to achieve these objectives. They are the result of a consensus between all interested parties. The French occupational risk insurance therefore had a duty to take part in drawing them up in order to defend the imperatives of occupational risk prevention, its primary mission.

It is in this context that EUROGIP was created. Since then, it has been enriched with new missions and activities, always with the same raison d’être: deepening and sharing knowledge on OSH, prevention and insurance of occupational risks, but also exploring the best levers for action, in France and internationally.

Discover other news

News, Standardization

30/11/22

AI and OHS: a look back at the Euroshnet conference in October 2022

Artificial Intelligence (AI) meets Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) was the theme of the 7th EUROSHNET conference which took place in Paris on 20 October and which brought together some 130 OSH experts from the world of standardisation, testing and certification, from 15 countries.

Abroad

23/11/22

ITALY: tumour linked to mobile phone use recognised in PM

The Court of Appeal of Turin has just ruled in favour of a 63-year-old former technician who was seeking recognition as an occupational disease of the benign auricular tumour of which he was a victim for having used his mobile phone at work for at least 2.5 hours a day for 13 years.

Actu Eurogip|01/01/21

2021

Accueil > L’actualité d’EUROGIP et des risques professionnels en Europe > 2021

2021 s’annonce comme une année particulière. On souhaite bien évidemment qu’elle soit meilleure que 2020 et nous conduise vers un retour à la vie “normale”. Elle marque également le 30e anniversaire d’EUROGIP, créé sous la forme d’un groupement d’intérêt public fin 1991 par la CNAM (assurance risques professionnels) et l’INRS. L’objectif était de mieux comprendre et participer au processus européen qui se mettait en place en matière de santé et sécurité au travail (SST).

En effet, deux ans plus tôt, la directive-cadre européenne (directive 89/391/CEE) a marqué un tournant décisif :

  • elle garantit des conditions minimales de SST à travers l’Europe tout en autorisant les États membres à maintenir ou à mettre en place des mesures plus strictes ;
  • elle est à la base d’une série de “directives particulières” relatives à l’utilisation ou la mise sur le marché des machines, équipements de protection individuelle, écrans de visualisation…

Parallèlement, l’Europe adoptait sa “Nouvelle Approche” (1985) instaurant une forte complémentarité entre les directives et les normes européennes. Les premières fixent des exigences essentielles de SST pour la mise sur le marché et l’utilisation des produits. Les secondes proposent des moyens pour atteindre ces objectifs. Elles sont le résultat d’un consensus entre toutes les parties intéressées. L’assurance risques professionnels française se devait donc de participer à leur élaboration pour défendre les impératifs de prévention des risques professionnels, sa mission première.

C’est dans ce contexte qu’EUROGIP a été créé. Depuis, il s’est enrichi de nouvelles missions et activités, avec toujours la même raison d’être : approfondir et partager les connaissances sur la SST, la prévention et l’assurance des risques professionnels, mais aussi explorer les meilleurs leviers d’action, en France et à l’international.

 

Découvrez d’autres actualités

Actu Communautaire

21/05/24

Déclaration sur l’avenir du socle européen des droits sociaux

Lors de la conférence de haut niveau mi-avril à La Hulpe, le Parlement européen, la Commission européenne, la Belgique au nom des 25 États membres de l'UE, le Comité économique et social européen, ETUC, SGI Europe, SME United et Social Platform ont signé une déclaration sur l'avenir du Socle européen des droits sociaux.