FINLAND: Legislation to better protect teleworking civil servants

Home > The news of EUROGIP and occupational risks in Europe > FINLAND: Legislation to better protect teleworking civil servants

According to the Ministry of Finance, the law needs to be changed to better protect teleworking civil servants. Extended coverage would include accidents that occur during lunch breaks or on the way to and from school.

As the law has allowed this for several years, employers can take out voluntary supplementary accident insurance or fully voluntary leisure insurance for their employees. This insurance could be used to cover breaks during teleworking during the health crisis for example. However, the state cannot take out such insurance. This was presented as a reason to develop special regulations for civil servants.

Today, with the exception of professional sportsmen and women, the concepts of occupational accident and occupational disease are the same for everyone. Compensation and the concepts of compensable events are also uniform. “The new legislation for civil servants would not cover other employees, which would be very peculiar,” says Kirsi Pohjolainen, lawyer responsible for legal and regulatory affairs at TVK.

To find out more

Discover other news

Community news


Machinery Regulation: green light to start negotiations

On 26 June, the Council's Permanent Representatives Committee (Coreper) approved the mandate for the Council Presidency to start negotiations with the European Parliament on the proposed Machinery Regulation. The new regulation is intended to replace the 2006 directive.